Mastodon

Join us Sunday for a Town Hall on Puerto Rican Sovereignty, plus updates on anti-war activism, Starbucks Workers United, and Tuesday’s Texas primary

Feb 25, 2022 | PDA News

In solidarity,
Alan Minsky for the PDA National Team

 

Sign up for Sunday’s Progressive Town Hall at 4pm ET/1pm PT, featuring a panel discussion on Puerto Rican self-determination, plus a final call to help PDA-endorsed progressive candidates win historic victories in Texas on Tuesday

 

As Russia’s invasion of Ukraine is rightly being condemned around the world, it seems a good moment to consider the United States’ relations with its neighbors. At this week’s Progressive Town Hall, we’re going to do a deep dive into the relationship between the U.S. and the largest of its five “unincorporated territories,” the Caribbean island of Puerto Rico, with a panel of prominent Puerto Rican activists and progressive politicians at the top of the second hour of Sunday’s meeting.

In the first hour of Sunday’s Town Hall, we’ll be discussing three important and timely PDA initiatives:

  1. Support for Starbucks workers who are organizing to win union representation at their stores.
  2. Helping to build a powerful anti-war peace movement in response to Russia’s invasion of Ukraine that demands the USA stay completely out of the military conflict.
  3. A final push in support of the two exceptional progressive congressional candidates that PDA endorsed in Texas, Jessica Cisneros and Greg Casar. Texas’ primary is on Tuesday, two whole months before any other state in the union. Both Jessica and Greg have a real possibility of winning the primary outright, and thus avoiding a costly runoff, by receiving more than 50% of the vote in this round. So, every vote is essential, and every phone banker priceless.

Then, the panel on Puerto Rico begins promptly at 5pm ET/2pm PT. It features one of the national co-chairs of the 2020 Bernie Sanders campaign, former Mayor of San Juan, Carmen Yulin-Cruz. Joining Carmen will be Rafael Bernabe, member of the Puerto Rican Senate, and Adrian Gonzalez, the organizational secretary of the PR Independence Party.

Sign up for Sunday’s Progressive Town Hall here.

PDA Weekly Progressive Town Hall
Sunday, February 27
4pm ET/3pm CT/2pm MT/1pm PT/12pm AK/10 AM HI. Register here and the machine will email you your secure code.

Can’t make the event but want to make a real difference? Donate and/or volunteer.

Hope to see you Sunday!

 

1 Comment

  1. C H

    Excellent panel! Thank you!

Mastodon