FOUR Ways to Get Active!

Jun 22, 2018

By  Mike Hersh, for Donna, Mike F, Judy, Dan, Janis, Deb, Dr. Bill, Bryan, and Kim—your PDA National Team

For Healthcare, Justice, and Freedom

Help Sustain Progressive Democrats of America!

Progressive Democrats of America (PDA) was founded in 2004 to help elect progressives and to make a real difference organizing for progress. Over the next several days, there are four big ways you can get involved in helping us achieve our shared goals:

Give Generously to PDA and the Manno Campaign

Watch the Single-Payer Conference Livestream

Join Poor People’s Campaign in DC or Near You

Join a Net Neutrality Action This Tuesday


From our dear friends at Healthcare Now!

Rep. Keith Ellison is speaking live TONIGHT at the 2018 Single Payer Strategy Conference in Minneapolis! Watch the livestream on Facebook starting 9pm ET, 8pm CT, 7pm MT, 6pm PT.

We’ll also be livestreaming the main plenaries on Saturday and Sunday. Here’s the rough schedule:

Saturday:

10am ET, 9am CT, 8am MT, 7am PT: Opening Remarks;

2pm ET, 1pm CT, Noon MT, 11am PT: Messaging and the Medicare-for-All Midterms

4:45pm ET, 3:45pm CT, 2:45pm MT, 1:45pm PT: Organizing for Medicare for All & the Rise of Incrementalism Alternatives

Sunday:

11am ET, 10am CT, 9am MT, 8am PT: A New Campaign for Medicare for All


Stand Against Poverty!
Mass Rally & Moral Revival!

The Poor People’s Campaign: A National Call for Moral Revival is uniting tens of thousands of people across the country to challenge the evils of systemic racism, poverty, the war economy, ecological devastation and the nation’s distorted morality. Join a rally in DC or near you.


Stand Up for Net Neutrality
Find and join local events and actions.

Progressive Democrats of America (PDA) joins countless organizations and individuals who demand that the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) keep the Internet free by protecting Net Neutrality. The highly respected independent publication Consumer Reports announced that a “survey shows that a majority of Americans favor net neutrality rules that prevent internet service providers (ISPs) from blocking lawful online content.”

Unfortunately, the FCC took preliminary action to shut down freedom on the Internet. Still, Congress will have the final say over this policy. Click here to tell your Senators and Representative to join you protecting Net Neutrality.

Please click here now to tell your Senators and Representative: You Demand They Act Now To Keep The Internet Free.

Then this Tuesday June 26th, find and join local events and actions to stand up for Net Neutrality, (corrected link).


Help Elect Roger Manno
Progressive Champion to Congress

Maryland’s Primary Election Day is June 26th. Roger Manno needs our help now. Volunteer | Give | Sign Up

Joel Segal, one of PDA’s best friends in the Congress during his thirteen years as a staffer, wrote this about Roger Manno:

I worked closely with Roger Manno when we were both staffers on Capitol Hill. Roger was a huge part of our effort to relaunch the national healthcare movement. He worked with the core group drafting Medicare for All legislation (HR 676) and building the diverse and powerful coalition that made healthcare reform possible.

Roger’s thoughtful input and commitment to healthcare reform were indispensable from the drafting of the legislation, through his outreach to colleagues in Congress, and his support for healthcare reform as a state legislator. He brought his leadership and focus on helping people in need to the Maryland legislature where he was an effective and concerned leader.

Roger Manno is an exemplary candidate for Congress. He is experienced and creative. He’s dedicated to serving the people of Maryland’s 6th district, and will do so from day one.

– Joel Segal, Former Congressional Staffer, Lead Author of HR 676

This is a familiar political showdown. Roger is running against a billionaire and a millionaire-friendly candidate embraced by corporate insiders. The billionaire is trying to buy this Congressional seat after failing to buy the 8th District seat in 2016. The corporate Dem has a record of catering to the 1%. Both of them are pouring $millions into this primary. Roger is pouring his heart and soul into this effort. He needs your support. Will you help him? Volunteer | Donate | Sign Up.


You will not find a more effective progressive group than PDA. PDA makes the most difference—dollar for dollar—of any organization. Your donation couldn’t be better used to make progress than with PDA. Please sign up to make an automatic monthly “sustainer” contribution now.

In solidarity,

Mike Hersh, for Donna, Mike F, Judy, Dan, Janis, Deb, Dr. Bill, Bryan, and Kim—your PDA National Team

P.S. We don’t ask for dues. We rely on small donations from people like you. If you’ve never donated before, now is the time! We need you to sign up to make automatic monthly contributions. If you’re already a sustainer, we appreciate your help! If you can, please consider setting up another sustainer donation. Click here to do that. No spare change to help us make change? Then contact Mike Fox to join the phone team.

Invest in Progress by Card or Check

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Share This

Share this post with your friends!