Tuesday: Join Our Free PDA Showing of Enviro-Activist Greta Thunberg Documentary. RSVP Now.

Nov 23, 2020

by Mike Fox for the PDA National Team

Join Us For An Exclusive Free PDA Showing Of

“I Am Greta”

Tuesday, Nov. 24. 

Get Your Pass Now.

 

We’re proud to offer this PDA exclusive free showing of “I Am Greta.”

In 2018, 15-year-old Swedish climate activist Greta Thunberg held a school strike outside her country’s Parliament building in Stockholm. At first she sat alone, handing out information and answering questions from passersby. Slowly, others began to join her—and within months she had sparked a worldwide movement.

Directed by Nathan Grossman, I AM GRETA offers a personal and inspiring glimpse inside Greta’s path to becoming an internationally known environmental activist. Shot in the style of cinéma vérité and with support from the Thunberg family, cameras capture Greta’s meetings with government leaders, headline-making public appearances, and global protests. But they also depict Greta’s life outside of the moments visible on news channels worldwide: laughing at home with her family, writing impassioned speeches, and trying to handle the mounting stress of nonstop travel, public scrutiny, and becoming the face of the climate change cause.

Greta, who has Asperger’s Syndrome, impresses everyone from UN delegates, to Pope Francis, to Hollywood A-listers with her intricate knowledge of climate issues and unwavering dedication. However, as Greta’s celebrity grows, so does her frustration with politicians who don’t heed her warnings about climate change. As someone who thrives on routines and appreciates solitude, the unpredictable schedule and global visibility takes its toll. Greta’s father, Svante, travels alongside his daughter and becomes deeply concerned by the hateful words—and even death threats—aimed at her by pundits, politicians, and climate-change deniers.
The film culminates with Greta’s arduous two-week journey by sailboat to the UN Climate Action Summit in New York City, where she’s greeted by crowds chanting her name. (Greta stopped flying because of the high emissions caused by air travel.) Today, her #FridaysForFuture movement has organized climate strikes on every continent except Antarctica. As she tells the UN, “The world is waking up, and change is coming whether you like it or not.” 

Live zoom discussion after the film featuring ways you can combat the Climate Emergency.


Free PDA Showing of “I Am Greta”
Tuesday, Nov. 24
8pm Eastern; 7pm Central; 6pm Mountain; 5pm Pacific; 4pm Alaska; 3pm Hawaii
Click here to RSVP.  VolunteerDonate

 

Hope to see you Tuesday!

 

6 Comments

  1. Judith H Coburn

    Sorry I missed it. Is there anywhere else to access this film?

    • Janis Kay

      The only way to watch now is via a Hulu account.

  2. D.H. Higgins

    How to access this screening? No response to my RSVP(s). It’s almost 5:30. This is maddening.

  3. Paul Klinkman

    Bummer. I had hoped to see “I am Greta.” No, I don’t do Facebook/Twitter for political reasons.

    • Janis Kay

      We do not need Twitter or Facebook to watch the movie. Just the login that we signed up for previously. User name and password.

  4. Iris Mann

    Thank you for your dedication to this world saving cause.