National Groups Announce Endorsement of State Sen. Antoinette Sedillo López in NM-01

Mar 25, 2021 | Press Release

By Alan Minsky, Executive Director – Progressive Democrats of America

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

March 25, 2021

Contact:

Brett Hartl, Center for Biological Diversity Action Fund, bretthartl@centeractionfund.org, 202-817-8121

Sam Bernhardt, Food & Water Action, sbernhardt@fwwatch.org, 267-428-1903

Collin Rees, Oil Change U.S., collin@priceofoil.org, 308-293-3159

Alan Minsky, Progressive Democrats of America, alan@pdamerica.org, 818-749-9497

Zanagee Artis, Zero Hour, zanagee@thisiszerohour.org, 860-575-7535

National Groups Announce Endorsement of State Sen. Antoinette Sedillo López in NM-01

WASHINGTON, DC — Today, five national environmental and progressive groups representing tens of thousands of New Mexico voters announced their endorsement of State Senator Antoinette Sedillo López for New Mexico’s 1st Congressional district. The groups announcing their endorsement of Sedillo López include the Center for Biological Diversity Action Fund, Food & Water Action, Oil Change U.S., Progressive Democrats of America, and Zero Hour. 

Brett Hart, political director at the Center for Biological Diversity Action Fund, said: 

“Antoinette shares Deb Haaland’s environmental vision, one that puts people and our environment first. She will be a champion for wildlife, a champion for clean air and water, and a tireless advocate to save our climate from the ravages caused by the fossil fuel industry.” 

Wenonah Hauter, Executive Director of Food & Water Action, said: 

“Senator Sedillo López has demonstrated time and again a fierce advocacy for environmental justice issues and a bold willingness to stand up to the fossil fuel industry. She will bring the same tenacity and concern for her constituents in Congress as she has done for her district as a New Mexico state senator. New Mexicans need a fighter on their side who will stand up for what is right, and they’ve found a champion in Antoinette Sedillo López.”

Collin Rees, Senior Campaigner at Oil Change U.S., said: 

“We need Antoinette Sedillo López’s visionary leadership in Congress. As a state senator she’s been a tireless advocate for communities impacted by the fossil fuel industry’s greed, rejecting industry money and working for an equitable transition beyond oil and gas. Senator Sedillo López will be a worthy successor to Secretary Deb Haaland, carrying on the mantle of progressive and environmental leadership for New Mexicans.”

Alan Minsky, Executive Director of Progressive Democrats of America, said: 

“As she proved in the New Mexico State Senate, Antoinette Sedillo López is an unwavering advocate for the people and the planet. Her policy positions — rooted in years of advocacy work in her community, and grounded by a deep commitment to economic, environmental, and social justice — are a template for the transformative politics we need in the 21st century. Sedillo López will be an excellent successor to Deb Haaland in Congress.”

Zanagee Artis, Policy Director of Zero Hour, said: 

“Zero Hour knows that Senator Sedillo López will carry forward a bold vision of nationwide renewable energy and an end to fossil fuel reliance as a member of Congress. Antoinette Sedillo López will be a champion for young people in pushing forward the Green New Deal that New Mexicans and youth across the nation need for a livable future. Young people need her in the halls of the U.S. Congress.”


Journalists to contact:

James Barron, Santa Fe New Mexican — jbarron@sfnewmexican.com
Ryan Boetel, Albuquerque Journal — rboetel@abqjournal.com
Dan Boyd, Albuquerque Journal — dboyd@abqjournal.com
Brian Metzger, New Mexico In Depth — bryan.metzger.nmid@gmail.com
Joe Monahan, New Mexico Politics — newsguy@yahoo.com
Tony Raap, Santa Fe New Mexican — traap@sfnewmexican.com
Matthew Reichbach, NM Political Report — matthew@nmpoliticalreport.com
Milan Simonich, Santa Fe New Mexican — msimonich@sfnewmexican.com
Stephanie Akin, CQ Roll Call — stephanieakin@cqrollcall.com
Max Greenwood, The Hill — mgreenwood@thehill.com
Matthew Kassel, Jewish Insider — matthew@jewishinsider.com
Morgan Lee, Associated Press — mlee@ap.org
Zach Montellaro, Politico — zmontellaro@politico.com
David Nir, DailyKos Elections — davidnir@dailykos.com
Nathaniel Rakich, FiveThirtyEight — nathaniel.rakich@fivethirtyeight.com
Nick Tagliaferro, Primary School — nickrtagliaferro@gmail.com
Dave Weigel, Washington Post — david.weigel@washpost.com

0 Comments

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *